TVSS Online classes are designed as a taster of the classroom lessons and excursions that students would experience on a TVSS short summer course.

Overview

  • Lesson times: 10:30-12:00 noon UK time

    Monday – Friday, 5 days per week

  • Total teaching time: 7.5 hours plus two guided self-study excursion activities per week

  • Start dates: Every Monday in July (6th, 13th, 20th, 27th).

  • Recommended age range: 10-17 years

  • Group size: min 4 - max 8 learners

  • End-of-course certificate and progress report

  • Our online classes use secure web-based platforms including Zoom & Google Classroom

Fees: £140 per week

3 class levels in line with Trinity GESE stages & Common European Framework of Reference for Languages:

Grades 1 - 3 Initial stage Pre-A1-A2.1
Grades 4 - 6 Elementary stage A2.2-B1.2
Grades 7 - 9 Intermediate stage B2.1-B2.3

 

Class Start Time

Please check the grid below to see what time the lesson will start in your region.

Sao Paulo (-4) 06:30
London (BST) 10:30
Berlin / Madrid / Paris / Rome (+1) 11:30
Jeddah (+2) 12:30
Moscow (+2) 12:30
Almaty (+5) 15:30
Beijing / Hong Kong (+7) 17:30
Tokyo (+8) 18:30

 

Excursions

  • Interactive Virtual Excursions built into the teaching programme that include top UK destinations that students usually visit on TVSS Summer Courses (e.g. Greenwich/Oxford/Canterbury/London)

  • Experience some of the UK’s top tourist attractions and our unique British culture from the comfort of your home

  • Virtually visit some of the most famous landmarks through web-based tools to get a feel for future trips to the UK

Course Design

  • The TVSS online courses are 1 or 2 weeks in duration, focus on speaking & listening skills and help prepare students for future Trinity College Graded Examinations in Spoken English.

  • You will take a short Online Placement Test to be enrolled in an online English class appropriate to your English level alongside a mix of students who you will learn with throughout your course.

  • Lessons will focus on speaking and listening to authentic English. In each class you will be given the opportunity to speak English with the class and with the teacher. Our Online English classes are small, with a maximum of 8 students in each class, so you can learn in a supportive, friendly environment. In exceptional cases, in order to place students at their correct level, maximum class size may be exceeded.

  • All languages are constantly changing and English is no exception. With this in mind, we go to great lengths to make sure our courses and products are constantly being updated.

  • We have a team of language experts with over fifty years’ experience between them. Their task is to make sure that you learn the most current form of English. And that you learn it in the most stimulating and enjoyable way.

  • We believe that you will learn faster and more effectively if your lessons are fun, interactive and relevant, that’s why our fully qualified teachers use a range of techniques and develop classes that are motivating and build your confidence. Be a stronger English speaker when schools reopen!

  • Classroom activities will include discussions, role plays, pair work, collaborative group projects, focus on pronunciation, mini-presentations, listening comprehensions, podcasts and embedded sound & video files.

  • Our teachers are all native-level English speakers who are friendly and fun to work with. They’re all expected to hold internationally recognised teaching qualifications - as required by the British Council. Student progress is closely monitored by the Director of Education.

Typical TVSS Teacher

Please note that these profiles are of typical TVSS teachers and your online classes may not be taught by the people featured in them.

Rebecca Reyes

After completing her degree in Comparative Literature and Linguistics, Rebecca obtained the Cambridge CELTA qualification in Spain in 2017.

She has taught English for three and a half years specialising in exam preparation for teens and adults, including Cambridge, Trinity, Aptis, TOEFL/TOEIC and EIKEN. Rebecca has returned to the UK over the summer to work for us at both Rugby School and Epsom College.

Thanks to her own experience as a language learner, Rebecca's teaching style is open and encouraging, so every student can feel motivated to learn. In her free time, she enjoys reading, dancing and trying new recipes with varying degrees of success.

Will Dove

After graduating from the University of Warwick in 2015 with a degree in English Literature, Will completed his CELTA qualification to become a professional EFL teacher. Since then, he's taught English in language academies across France, Italy, and Spain.For the last two years, Will has returned to the UK over the summer to work for us at Epsom College. He has just finished his PGCE course at the University of Exeter to become a French and Spanish teacher and will commence his new teaching role in a UK school in September.Will enjoys photography, reading, and keeping fit. As a devoted 'petrolhead', his car and motorcycle are his pride and joy.

 

Technical Requirements

  •  Good internet connection

  •  Windows Desktop / Laptop / Apple Mac (we recommend using Google Chrome as browser)

    Portable devices such as tablets, smartphones and iPads are not recommended

  •  Webcam, speakers and microphone (or audio headset)

A short orientation session may be necessary

 

This new course is not currently covered by our British Council accreditation.

Key Information
Established
2020
Location
Online
Ages
10-17
Lessons per week
10 x 45 minute lessons
English School      Friends
No
Trinity Grades
1-9
WiFi
Yes

Share This School

Course Dates & Fees 2021

Copyright © 2020 Thames Valley Summer Schools. Website by Altido and Above the Fold.